• Oscar Campos


Updated: 2 days ago



The AGM of Illawarra Suburbs Lawn Tennis Association was held on Monday 2nd May 2022, as advertised.

The following officers were elected:

Board of Directors: John Birkett (President), Jan Boldeman (Secretary), Paul Harrison (Treasurer), Tracy Charas (Vice-President), Kathy Workman and Gai Fielding.

Competition Secretaries: Rae Middleton (Tuesday Ladies), Jillian Woolbank (Thursday Ladies and Wednesday Night Mixed), Tony Cronan (Saturday Mixed), Tracy Charas and Tracey Fisher (Monday Unisex), Dennis Bindon (Sunday Wanganui Cup).

Registrar: Rosanna Avenia. Interdistrict Convenor: Tracey Fisher and Tracy Charas, Webmaster: Oscar Campos.

There was one motion up for consideration. This motion was to change the Heat Rule, number 35.2, for the Tuesday and Thursday Ladies’ Midweek Competitions only.

Rule 35.2 of the Ladies Midweek rules states: After arrival at the court if it is ascertained that the temperature is over 35 degrees Celsius measured by a shaded thermometer placed over the centre of the net, play is to be abandoned for the day.

The motion was to change this number 35 to 32, so that play would be abandoned when the temperature reached 32 degrees Celsius.

This motion was narrowly defeated.

Only members registered to play in these competitions plus the competition secretaries were eligible to vote on this motion. A 75% majority is required to pass special business such as this at a General Meeting. This requirement has been in place for many years to avoid frequent or frivolous changes to the rules.

Members are welcome to re-submit a motion at a later General Meeting if they wish.

Jan Boldeman General Secretary, ISLTA.

Download the minutes 2021

Download DOCX • 23KB

Recent Posts

See All